Thursday, May 24, 2018

Brute by SC Daiko




Title: Brute
Author: SC Daiko
Genre: Contemporary Romance/Romantic Suspense
Release Date: May 24, 2018



Blurb

Daniel Collins… hunky single dad… and my neighbor.
Arrogant, bad-mannered, and reclusive.
They call him the Brute.

I should stay away from him… except I can’t.

Not when he reveals his brokenness,
and I glimpse the pain in his eyes.
Not when his touch unravels me,
and the heat between us could set the oceans alight.

But play with fire, and you will get burned.

A fragile heart can easily be broken again.

**

A new standalone contemporary romance from award-winning international bestselling author SC Daiko, a beautiful love story with plenty of heat and angst. 








Purchase Links

99c for a limited time

AMAZON US / UK / CA / AU

Free in Kindle Unlimited






Playlist



Trailer







Excerpt

My cottage backs onto woodland, and there’s a path leading through it. Birdsong and the scent of blackberries fills the air. I let Toby off his leash and he immediately starts foraging for anything edible… wild fruit being his favourite snack.
I leave him to it and stride on ahead, knowing he’ll catch up in good time. Soon I come to a glade where the trees have been thinned out. Oh shit, standing in the middle of the clearing is Daniel. He’s bare-chested and dressed in running shorts, doing stretching exercises braced against a fallen tree trunk.
I slow my footsteps, treading quietly on mouldy old leaves, and rake my gaze over him. His thick almost-black hair is dripping sweat; it falls down his face and the back of his solid neck. His beard is unkept and wild-looking. But it’s his powerful body that mesmerises me and I study the tats on his muscular arms, tempted to get closer for a better look. God, he’s beautiful, I suddenly realise. Beautiful but freaking scary at the same time.
I release a slow breath. Stop it, Cat. You shouldn’t be looking at him that way. The man in front of you is a brute. You need to keep your distance from him.
Slowly, my heart pounding against my ribcage, I turn around and prepare to make my way back down the path. Except, Toby comes bounding up and starts to bark.
Dammit!
Daniel freezes on the spot. His eyes crash into mine, and if I was scared before now I’m practically peeing myself. He straightens himself to his full height, still glaring at me, not saying a word.
Toby keeps barking, but he’s also wagging his tail. I grab hold of his collar and fasten the lead. “Sorry to disturb you.” I bite at my lips. “We’ll get out of your way.”
He arches an eyebrow. “So, you weren’t following me?”
“Oh, God, no. We were just going for a walk.”
I’m still staring at his tats, trying to decipher the intricate patterns. He catches my gaze, and I feel my face burning up.
“Get on with your walk, then,” he says through gritted teeth. “Leave me alone.”
My fingernails dig into the palms of my hands. “No need to be bad-mannered.”
He crosses his arms in front of his broad chest and lets out an edgy laugh.
“You are a prick,” I spin around, “the rudest man I’ve ever met.”
He laughs again and keeps laughing mockingly as I stride off down the pathway, Toby at my heel.





Author Bio

SC Daiko, aka Siobhan (pronounced Shivawn), is an award-winning, international bestselling contemporary romance author. Originally from the UK, she now lives in Italy with her husband and two cats.


Author Links

Wednesday, May 23, 2018

Devil by Jordan Marie - Pre-Order Blitz




Title: Devil
Series: Savage MCTennessee #1
Author: Jordan Marie
Genre: MC Romance
Release Date: June 5, 2018



Blurb

He is my biggest temptation…


Logan is a complication I didn’t count on.
I need to stay away—too many lives depend on it.
One wrong move and everything around me will crumble.

But his graveled voice calls to me.

His wicked smile takes my breath.

His whiskey colored eyes intoxicates me.

His heated touch seduces me.

And his hard body promises hot nights beyond my dirtiest fantasies.

Saying yes, would be wrong.
But being wrong feels so good. 







Pre-order Links

$2.99 for a limited time

AMAZON US / UK / CA / AU






Author Bio

USA Today Best Selling Author Jordan Marie, is just a simple small town country girl who is haunted by Alpha Men who talk in her head 24 hours a day. 

She likes to create a book that takes you on an emotional journey whether tears, laughter (or both) or just steamy hot fun (or all 3). She loves to connect with readers and interacting with them through social media, signings or even old fashioned email.

Join her newsletter to stay up to date as well as take part in giveaways and just let her know how you feel about her books!


Author Links

Dirty Rich Cinderella Story by Lisa Renee Jones


Title: Dirty Rich Cinderella Story
Author: Lisa Renee Jones
Release Date: May 23, 2018
A new sexy standalone from Lisa Renee Jones…

SEDUCED FOR A NIGHT. TAKEN FOREVER.

With only nine months left at Stanford, and despite being top of her law school class, Lori Havens takes leave to care for her sick mother. That means she juggles three jobs, the best of which is researcher for novelist, and syndicated columnist of "Cat Does Crime," Cat Summer.

One evening after finishing up her work at Cat's apartment building, Lori has an encounter with a sexy stranger, and does something out of character. She goes home with him. The night is perfect, he's perfect, wealthy, powerful and from out of town. Morning comes, and despite their connection, Lori leaves before he finds out she's far from the equal he believes her to be. She's not a charity case and she's not after his money. She will make her own. In other words, she leaves before her prince charming finds out she's no princess.

Flash forward a few months, Lori's mother is healing, and Cat's husband, Reese, has merged his firm with another and Lori lands an internship there, with school credit and scholarship money.. Everything is falling into place. That is until fate reveals a wicked twist of events and Lori walks into a conference room to find her new boss, Cole Brooks, one of the partners, is her one-night prince charming. One sizzling shared look across a boardroom, and it's clear: this man is not done with her. It's not long before Lori is informed that she'll be working high profile cases with her one night prince charming which will require long nights and travel, starting immediately.
I own you.

With those words, my words, my intent in the air, and my fingers still tangled in Lori’s hair, I kiss her, a deep, possessive kiss meant to claim her, take her, make her mine, if only for this night. And she knows it too, because when my lips part hers, she pants out, “No one owns me.”

“Then, sweetheart, you’ve never been properly fucked.” I slide my hands under her jacket, settling my palms on her shoulders.

“I guess that depends on how you define properly.”

I turn her to face in the opposite direction, dragging the jacket down her arms and tangling it around her wrists, and then I lean in close. “As dirty as possible,” I promise. “And with you on my tongue, in as many ways as we both find possible.”

“Is this how you own me?” she demands. “By binding my arms?”

“As much as I’d like to have you at my mercy, sweetheart,” I say, tossing the jacket aside, and turning her to face me, “I’m selfish enough to want your hands and mouth fully available, in any way, shape, or place you so choose to use them.” I walk us backward, toward the oversized chair made perfectly for the kind of hot, wild fuck in our near future, before my hands fall from her waist. “I want to watch you undress.”

“When do you undress?” she challenges.

“We have one condom, sweetheart. Let’s make it last. Undress for me, Lori.”

Her teeth scrape her bottom lip, and for just a moment, her eyes cut, but not before I see the flicker of nerves in her stare. And right then, I know that I’ve read her accurately up to this point. I know that her control is both a necessity and a wall that protects her. I know that no one has made it safe for her to leave those things at the door. No one has ever seen her really truly naked and the only way that happens, is to do exactly what I’m doing. Push her out of her comfort zone, pull her into the moment, where she forgets the walls, and lives nowhere but here in the moment. That’s the place where nothing exists but the two of us.

Her eyes meet mine again, and I see the decision in them. She’s not going to run like she did on the street tonight. She unzips her skirt, and caresses it down her slender, but curvy hips. It pools at her feet, and she kicks it aside, allowing me to admire her long legs in lacy thigh-high hose, my gaze catching on the slender strip of lace in the vee of her body.

Her fingers catch on the hem of her blouse, and she tries to hide the small, inhaled breath of courage she draws before pulling it and her loose bra over her head. She tosses it, and stands before me, creamy pale perfection in nothing but silk and lace, her breasts high, full, nipples puckered to a pretty pink that will soon be in my mouth. “You’re beautiful,” I say. “Come here.”

“Quid pro quo,” she declares. “I’m naked, you’re naked.”

We’re still doing the push and pull, but I don’t mind, not when my mouth is soon to be all over her body, which means her mouth will soon be all over my body. I don’t want her kneeling before me unless it’s to put her mouth on my cock. That’s not my goal, not this time, at least. It’s to own her, and that means she is so damn present, she can’t think, she can only feel. That takes trust and I decide to meet her halfway. I sit down and take off a shoe, showing it to her before setting it down.

“So now I get a socked foot?” she teases, and I can feel a hint of her tension easing away, her comfort in her own skin begins to settle into place. I can feel her easing into me and the night, letting me glimpse the real woman, not the stranger.

And I find that I surprise myself by how much I want to know this woman, not just fuck her.

“The pants don’t come off with the shoes on,” I tell her, and by the time I’ve removed the second shoe, she’s standing in front of me, every creamy white, naked inch of her. She grabs it and tosses it.

“Now the pants,” she orders, making it clear that she’s no submissive, that she can hold her own, and I fucking love it. “Or the shirt.”

I reach for her hips and walk her between my legs. “You’ve distracted me,” I tell her, my lips brushing her belly, my tongue drawing a circle. She trembles beneath my mouth, and I glance up at her. “You’re owned when you can think of nothing but the person you’re with. Nothing but what they might do to you now, and in the next moment.” I twine the string at her hips in my fingers. “Or where they might lick, kiss, or touch.” I drag her panties down her legs and then lower my mouth to her sex, where I let my breath tease her. “Tell me to lick you,” I order.

Her fingers curl around the material over my shoulders. “No.”

I bite my bottom lip and shake my head. “That’s too bad, because I really wanted to know how you taste.” I nip her hip and when she gives a surprised yelp I lave the wound with my tongue, glancing up at her. “Do you want me to—?”

“Yes.”

“Say it, Lori...”

REVIEW:


Cole is a man who knows what he wants and will do what needs to be done to get it. From the very first moment that he met Lori in a chance encounter he wanted to know her better. A chance encounter in New York city didn't bode well for him though but meeting her a second time? That's what fairy tales are made of.

Lori was fiercely independent and felt that she couldn't rely on any man, it was her and her mom against the world. With her mom recovering, while that was a huge load off of her shoulders she still felt she had to put all of her focus on paying off all debts which left no time for a man. Isn't she in for a surprise?

I loved the way that Cole did everything in his power to help Lori without making her feel like she owed him. He just had this way about him that any woman would fall in love with. LOVED this book!!!
New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Lisa Renee Jones is the author of the highly acclaimed INSIDE OUT series.

In addition to the success of Lisa's INSIDE OUT series, she has published many successful titles. The TALL, DARK AND DEADLY series and THE SECRET LIFE OF AMY BENSEN series, both spent several months on a combination of the New York Times and USA Today bestselling lists. Lisa is also the author of the bestselling WHITE LIES and LILAH LOVE series. 

Prior to publishing Lisa owned multi-state staffing agency that was recognized many times by The Austin Business Journal and also praised by the Dallas Women's Magazine. In 1998 Lisa was listed as the #7 growing women owned business in Entrepreneur Magazine.

Thursday, May 17, 2018

Breathe, an all-new second chance romance from Wall Street Journal and New York Times bestselling author Carly Phillips is LIVE!

 

Breathe-SBPRBANNER-BTBreathe, an all-new second chance romance from Wall Street Journal and New York Times bestselling author Carly Phillips is LIVE!

Breathe-Cover-Facebook
Fall in love with the Wards…
From troubled teen to successful general contractor, Jake Nichols turned his life around from his time in foster care. Divorced and single, he juggles his time between his daughter and his work. Next on his agenda, a new project that is his chance to prove his worth at the job he loves. Except he never anticipates that the only girl he's ever loved and lost as a teen is now a grown and beautiful woman in charge of the project.
Phoebe Ward has survived and conquered a painful past that includes foster care and becoming a teenaged mom. She wants nothing more than to focus on the present but it’s hard when she looks into the eyes of her son, knowing she’s tried and failed to find his father. She’s resigned herself to raising him alone with the help of her family… Until a client meeting brings her face to face with her first love. A boy… now a sexy man she thought she’d never see again … and the father of her child.
So many years have gone by and both of their lives have changed drastically. Will they be able to put the past behind them and find the second chance they both deserve?
A Standalone Novel

Excerpt

“Are you my guardian?” she quipped, trying to keep things light as she tipped her head slightly, studying his tight, serious expression. “I want to be.” His voice was serious as hell. His tone rubbed her in the most intimate way, her body swaying toward him. “Jake.” He reached out a hand to cup her face, his calloused fingertips rough against her skin. So intense were his features, so erotic was his touch, his protectiveness cloaking her in heat. Her nipples even puckered into tight points of need. “If I had my way, nobody would be able to take advantage of you, because they’d have to go through me in order to get to you.” Her face warmed at his words. “That’s sweet of you to say.” “I’m not feeling very sweet. In fact, I’m feeling pretty damned protective.” He was, and she liked it. A lot. His fingers skimmed her cheek as he spoke. “I was lucky enough to find you again. I want a chance to see what could be between us,” he said, taking her off guard. But God, she wanted that, too. Despite her brain telling her they needed to tread carefully, that they had a little boy to protect, her traitorous heart still wanted more. His blue gaze bored into hers, causing her heart to pound hard in her chest. “I know things are complicated right now, but how many people get second chances?” “Not many,” she agreed, knowing how lucky they were. “So wouldn’t we be foolish to waste the opportunity?”


REVIEW:

Jake has had a rough life growing up but he's managed to turn his life around. He has a great job that he loves and a daughter he'd do anything for but he's never forgotten his first love.

Phoebe didn't always have it as good as she does now. Once her aunt rescued her from foster care her world changed. Not only with the difference in her financial situation but finding out that she was pregnant and no way to get a hold of Jake.

I absolutely loved the kids!! I could feel the emotions that these two were going through. I was rooting for them throughout the whole book and wanted to smack Jake's ex-wife and thought he needed to be a little more stern with her. I had my fingers crossed that these two were going to be able to make it work, that they would be be able to get through what happened to them years ago so that they could have a future.
Breathe-AN.jpg

Buy Breathe Today! Amazon USAmazon UniversaliBooksNookKoboGoogle Play Add to GoodReads

BREATHE-Teaser1-AN

Start the Series of Standalones Today!

Fearless Amazon USAmazon Universal I Amazon Print iBooks NookKoboGoogle Play

Add to Goodreads

Meet Carly Phillips

CarlyPhillipsCarly Phillips is the N.Y. Times and USA Today Bestselling Author of over 50 sexy contemporary romance novels, including the Indie published, Dare to Love Series. She is happily married to her college sweetheart, the mother of two nearly adult daughters and three crazy dogs. Carly loves social media and is always around to interact with her readers.

Connect with Carly

Wednesday, May 16, 2018

Worth the Risk - K. Bromberg - Blog Tour with Review

WorthTheRiskSBPRBTBanner“Bromberg is a master at turning up the heat.”

New York Times bestselling author Katy Evans

Worth the Risk, an all-new, sexy standalone about taking chances and finding love when it’s least expected, from New York Times bestselling author K. Bromberg, is LIVE!

KBROMBERG_worth_riskebook

Synopsis

This whole contest was supposed to be easy. I know, I know. Famous last words. It’s a long story, but I messed up at work. Big time. To earn back the trust of my boss, I promised to save one of our magazines. Yep. That Hot Dad contest you’ve seen advertised all over the place was my idea. And if I’m successful, if I’m able to increase our online readership, then I get a shot at my dream job. But the one thing I never expected to happen, happened: Contestant number ten, Grayson Malone. Hello, Mr. Difficult. And did I mention sexy as hell? Unfortunately he knows me. The old me, anyway. And while we might be older now, I remind him of before. Of the woman who broke his heart, who hardened him, and who left him alone to raise the cutest little boy I’ve ever seen. But I don’t want a relationship. And I definitely don’t fall for single dads with baggage. Even ones with chiseled abs and killer smiles. But he got to me. They got to me. Him and his son and their messy, crazy life.  But I got to him too. I see the stolen glances. I feel the walls he built start to crumble. I recognize that there’s an unexpected beauty to the chaos in his life. And now that the contest is about to end, we’re left to decide whether the last six months were just fun or if what we have is worth risking it all?

Review


Grayson's relationship with his son just melted my heart. He would do anything for his son except for the one thing that he really wanted. He wanted a new mom. Grayson wanted nothing to do with making that happen for Luke. He was good for one night stands that his son didn't know about but not a new mom. Nope, nope, nope, not happening.

Enter Sidney, the rich girl from high school who was now a woman who seems like she hasn't changed a bit. She also unfortunately reminds him of Luke's mom, which doesn't bode well for anybody.

This book grabbed my attention from the get go and my heart hurt for these two. It seemed like they had way too many obstacles in their way and Grayson was very adamant in his views. 

Excerpt

But by the time I reach her, my blood boils with irrationality spurred on by too much alcohol.“Can I have a moment?” I ask as I walk up to her and grab her elbow, pushing her down the darkened hallway. “What is your problem?” She hisses as she fights me every step of the way. We get looks. I get looks. I don’t care because all I keep seeing is Vince’s hands on her arm. His eyes on her tits. His bullshit game I can spot a mile away. I find the closest door down the hallway leading to the bathrooms, and it opens. I push her through it, barely noticing that it’s an office of sorts before the door is shut, her back is up against it, and my mouth is covering hers. Take. Goddammit. That’s my only thought as I fit my lips to hers and take out my anger on her mouth with tongue and teeth and every fucking lick and nip in between. “What—” “I’m so pissed at you.” It’s all I say. It’s the only chance I give her to come up for air before my lips are back on hers. Before my tongue wars with hers. Before my body admits it would beg, borrow, and steal in order to taste every other part of her. Groan. I swallow the tiny sound she makes in our kiss as my hands hold her neck still and my lips wage an all-out assault. She hesitates—just a split second—before she reacts. Before her body bows into me, and her mouth argues back. Fist. Her hand in my shirt. Her other hand at the back of my neck as our bodies meet—pressed knee to chest. Her perfume in my nose. Her hair tickling my cheeks. The feel of her tits against my chest. Give. I can’t get enough. I’m mad at her. I want her. I don’t want to want her. Christ, do I want her. “Gray.” A murmured protest. I tear my lips from hers, shove off the door I have her pressed against, and stride to the other side of the room. “You are . . . you just . . .” It’s as if I can barely breathe. Christ, I’m mad at you.” She stands there, lips parted, chest heaving, and golden brown curls messed from my hands, but her eyes look hurt. A hurt I don’t want to see but can’t deny. “Why?” “You did this,” I accuse as I try to manage the anger that’s waging a war against my desire. “Did what?” Her eyes narrow. Her hand goes to press against her chest. “Made me want you.” for CGFC Grayson: I’ve been thinking about you all day. I look down at the text and smile before turning my attention back to Rissa and our plans for how we’re going to end this round of voting and move on to the top five. “So, I think we close it out and then maybe take the next week and announce one of the finalists each day. Give little tidbits about each of them, make readers like them more, just have fun with it.” My phone beeps again with another text, and I bite back the new grin trying to form on my lips. Rissa only huffs, eyeing my phone with annoyance. “Sorry, let me turn my ringer off.” And then I have to feign nonchalance when I look down at my phone and find another text. Grayson: My dick is rock hard, and it’s you I’m imagining. It’s in my hand when I’d rather it be in your mouth with my fingers in your pussy, working you into a frenzy. “Is everything okay?” Rissa asks, making me realize I must have made a noise when I read the text. “You look startled.” I glance back at the text again and shake my head while every part of my body comes to life. “Yeah, it’s, uh, fine.” “Your ringer.” Her brows are lifted as she glances to my phone and then back to me. My finger?” I squeak, thinking she saw the phone screen. “Ringer. Sound on your phone.” “Oh, yes . . . sorry.” Flustered, I fumble with my cell, and before I can even switch it off, another text alert pings. Grayson: I want to bend you over and watch as my cock slides in and out of you. “So back to next week . . .” “Yes,” I swallow over the desire lodged in every place it should be and try not to glance at my phone as it vibrates again. “Are you good with that plan?” Rissa asks as I shift in my seat to abate the sudden ache burning brighter than bright. “Yes. Sure. I think that sounds like a great plan.” Grayson: I want my cock buried so deep that you feel every damn inch of me. “Are you sure you’re okay?” “Yeah, why?” My voice breaks like a prepubescent teenager. Grayson: I want you to come so hard you have to bite the pillow. “You look a little flushed. Are you coming down with something?” Grayson: You always have a choice. Isn’t that what you said to me once? Make a choice, Sidney. Isn’t it time to head to lunch? “I mean, yeah, maybe.” I pull at my collar some. “Maybe that’s why I feel so flushed all of a sudden.” Grayson: Meet me on the backside of The Cottages. Room Six. Fifteen minutes. “Either that,” she says as she stands and heads to the door, only turning back to give me a wink, “or you’re guilty as hell. Maybe you should go take care of that itch texting you . . . or take some Tylenol. Whichever one it is, I think you should take the afternoon off.” Grayson: Choose me. “Oh.” It’s the only thing I can think to say because my brain is otherwise occupied imagining Grayson following through on his promises. “And, Sid?” “Yeah?” “I sure hope he’s every bit worth breaking the rules.” She winks. “It’s about damn time. Your secret is safe with me.”

Buy Your Copy Today!

Amazon US I Amazon Universal I iBooksNookKobo

Add to GoodReads

Text Kbromberg to 77948 to stay up to date on all things, Driven movies and new releases!

kitchencouple_available_now

About K. Bromberg

K. Bromberg Author PhotoNew York Times Bestselling author K. Bromberg writes contemporary novels that contain a mixture of sweet, emotional, a whole lot of sexy, and a little bit of real. She likes to write strong heroines, and damaged heroes who we love to hate and hate to love.
A mom of three, she plots her novels in between school runs and soccer practices, more often than not with her laptop in tow.
Since publishing her first book in 2013, Kristy has sold over one million copies of her books across sixteen different countries and has landed on the New York Times, USA Today, and Wall Street Journal Bestsellers lists over twenty-five times. Her Driven trilogy (Driven, Fueled, and Crashed) is currently being adapted for film by Passionflix with the first movie slated to release in the summer of 2018.
She is currently working on her Everyday Heroes trilogy. This series consists of three complete standalone novels—Cuffed, Combust, and Cockpit (late spring 2018)—and is about three brothers who are emergency responders, the jobs that call to them, and the women who challenge them.
She loves to hear from her readers so make sure you check her out on social media or sign up for her newsletter to stay up to date on all her latest releases and sales: http://bit.ly/254MWtI

Connect with K. Bromberg

FIGHTING FOR WHAT’S HIS by Laura Kaye - Cover Reveal

   

From New York Times bestselling author Laura Kaye, comes the second standalone title in her Warrior Fight Club series, FIGHTING FOR WHAT’S HIS. Check out Laura’s note below and the beautiful cover! Then join the Warrior Fight Club world today!

 

A note from Laura Kaye:

I’m so excited to share the beautiful cover art with you for Fighting for What’s His, because this story has a whole lot of things I love:

 A sexy, bad-ass veteran hero!

A feisty and independent heroine who won’t hesitate to stand up for herself!

A forbidden, best friend’s younger sister conflict which is always so delicious!

A forced-proximity situation that creates all kinds of sexual tension!

 

Check, check, check, and check! And then this gorgeous art to pull it all together – check it out! And I hope you’ll preorder your standalone romance today and join the world of the Warrior Fight Club!

   

About FIGHTING FOR WHAT’S HIS (Warrior Fight Club #2, 8/7/18):

This fight club has one rule: you must be a veteran…

Resisting her only makes him want her more...

Private investigator Billy Parrish is good at three things—fighting, investigating, and sex. MMA training with the other vets in the Warrior Fight Club keeps his war-borne demons at bay—mostly, and one night stands ensure no one gets too close. But then his best friend from the Army Rangers calls in a favor.

Shayna Curtis is new to town, fresh out of grad school, and full of hope for the future. With a new job starting in a month, she’s grateful when her brother arranges a place for her to stay while she apartment hunts. But she never expected her roommate to be so brooding. Or so sexy.

Billy can’t wait for Shay to leave—because the longer she’s there, the more he wants her in his bed. To stay. He can’t have her—that much he knows. But when fight club stops taking off the edge, Billy lets down his guard…and starts fighting for what’s his.

 

PRE-ORDER on Amazon | Amazon Paperback | B&N [in progress!] | iBooks | Kobo

Add to your Goodreads

   

AND GRAB BOOK 1, FIGHTING FOR EVERYTHING, right now!

ORDER on Amazon | Amazon AU | Amazon CA | Amazon UK | B&N | iBooks | Kobo

Add to your Goodreads

    About Laura Kaye: Laura is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of over thirty books in contemporary and erotic romance and romantic suspense, including the Blasphemy, Hard Ink, and Raven Riders series. Growing up, Laura’s large extended family believed in the supernatural, and family lore involving angels, ghosts, and evil-eye curses cemented in Laura a life-long fascination with storytelling and all things paranormal. Laura also writes historical fiction as the NYT bestselling author, Laura Kamoie. She lives in Maryland with her husband and two daughters, and appreciates her view of the Chesapeake Bay every day.      

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Newsletter SignUp

 

A.K. Evans’ OVERCOME - Teaser Blitz

Today we have the teaser blitz of A.K. Evans’ OVERCOME! We are so excited to share this fantastic upcoming release with you!!

 

 

Title: Overcome

Author: A.K. Evans

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Release Date: June 12th

 

About Overcome:

It only took a matter of moments for Lexi Townsend's life to change. Her power was taken, her trust lost. Her bubbly personality was smothered by the depressing weight of shame and guilt. Four years later, Lexi yearns to get back to the former version of herself. A stronger version. One who is no longer afraid to share her story, her body, and her trust. When Private Investigator Cruz Cunningham comes into her life, he proves he’s a man that’s deserving of her trust. When multiple women in Windsor go missing, it launches Cruz and the Cunningham Security team into action. As Cruz digs deeper into the investigation, he’s torn between finding the missing women and protecting the woman he loves. Putting her faith in Cruz, Lexi never imagines that this case could destroy everything she’s worked so hard to overcome. WARNING: This novel contains references to rape and sexual assault and may trigger discomfort in some readers.    

Pre-Order Your Copy Today:

Amazon | iBooks | Kobo | B&N | Goodreads

 

Exclusive Excerpt:

WARNING: This excerpt contains references to rape and sexual assault and may trigger discomfort in some readers.     This had to be a mistake. Everything I had learned told me that this wasn’t how it was supposed to be.  It was supposed to look different.  Sound different. I had it wrong.  If I ever told anyone, they’d tell me I was mistaken. But something was gnawing away at me inside telling me this wasn’t right.  It didn’t feel good and it wasn’t what I wanted. But where was the struggle?  The blood?  The bruises?  The cries for help? This is supposed to happen in an alley behind a dumpster.  I’m supposed to be kicking and screaming and fighting. But I’m not.  This doesn’t happen in a dorm room.  This doesn’t happen in a bed.  This doesn’t happen with the guy you like. But it is. This must be a misunderstanding. I wore a short skirt.  I went on a few dates with him.  I agreed to come back to his dorm room tonight.  I cuddled up next to him.  I leaned in to kiss him.  I even enjoyed kissing him. And in a matter of minutes, it all changed. When the soft caresses and tender kisses turned into rough and forceful restraint, the butterflies I felt in my belly disappeared and were replaced by paralyzing fear. When he rolled me to my back and pinned me to the bed, I froze. I didn’t fight.  I didn’t scream.  I didn’t try to get away.  I only said no and asked him to stop. The weight of his body hovered over mine. I said no. I sank deeper and deeper into the sheets. But I liked him. He gripped my wrists above my head. I said no. He forced my skirt up around my hips. Maybe I had been asking for it dressed like this. He pushed my panties to the side. I said no. He smiled through my growing opposition. But I had flirted with him. Then he raped me. And I only said no. I withdrew.  I went somewhere else.  Physically, I was still there, but my mind took me to a different place.  Finals were coming up next week and I had a paper due in two days.  I needed to get back to my dorm so I could finish proofreading that paper.  I was always a good student and I focused on that as I lay there silenced and still in the bed of his dorm room. Suddenly, my mind was back in the room with my body and he was still on top of me. I wanted to scream.  It was there, at the back of my throat, but it wouldn’t come out.  The fear seeped into every part of me, but most especially, it silenced my voice.  If I screamed, this might end up looking like an actual sexual assault. It could be violent and bloody. It could be worse. My breath was caught in my throat.  Perhaps it got stuck there simply to protect me. But what about what my parents had told me? Always stand up for yourself. Before my parents dropped me off at college, my father gave me a lecture.  “Don’t go out alone at night.  Make sure someone you trust always knows where you are and who you’re with.  Stay safe.  And if someone ever tries to hurt you, you fight back.” I didn’t heed his advice.  I didn’t fight back. I didn’t know for sure, but guessed that it couldn’t have been more than twenty minutes later when my attacker finished.  He rolled off me and fixed his clothes. Feeling ashamed and embarrassed, I quickly got up off the bed without making eye contact and pulled my skirt back down. It was over. I needed to get out, so I moved toward the door. But his voice stopped me as I wrapped my hand around the doorknob. “Don’t act like that isn’t exactly what you wanted tonight.” That’s when I knew. Maybe I didn’t run.  Maybe I didn’t fight.  But just because I didn’t fight, didn’t mean that I gave my consent. And just because I liked him doesn’t mean it wasn’t rape.  

 About the Author:

A.K. Evans is a married mother of two boys residing in a small town in northeastern Pennsylvania. After graduating from Lafayette College in 2004 with two degrees (one in English and one in Economics & Business), she pursued a career in the insurance and financial services industry. Not long after, Evans realized the career was not for her. She went on to manage her husband’s performance automotive business and drive the shop race cars for the next thirteen years. While the business afforded her freedoms she wouldn’t necessarily have had in a typical 9-5 job, after eleven years she was no longer receiving personal fulfillment from her chosen career path. Following many discussions, lots of thought, and tons of encouragement, Andrea decided to pursue her dream of becoming a writer. Between her day job, writing, and homeschooling her two boys, Evans is left with very little free time. When she finds scraps of spare time, she enjoys reading, doing yoga, watching NY Rangers hockey, dancing, and vacationing with her family. Andrea, her husband, and her children are currently working on taking road trips to visit all 50 states (though, Alaska and Hawaii might require flights).    

Connect with A.K.:

 

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram